Solar Installation / Solar Ownership

What it means to be a solar owner.

A few years ago, I flipped a switch, literally and figuratively.

I live in a 100-year old farmhouse, renovated to look and feel anything but its antique self.  When my husband and I bought the home several years ago, it was in need of love and care. So much so, that we had the opportunity to think big. Thinking big to us meant being as smart as we could about energy. We insulated, we bought good windows and energy efficient appliances, and then we looked up.

The southern face of our roof has 54 gleaming panels that do all the work we need to run our whole house. We burn no fossil fuels. We have no electricity bill to pay. The daily life of being a solar owner is so simple these days that it’s easy to take for granted that our situation – making all the energy we need from the sunlight that hits our roof – is far from typical. And yet why couldn’t it be? What would it take for our situation to become typical?

I don’t want to trivialize the learning and investment it took to become a solar owner. I have a vocabulary that I didn’t before. I know what a kilowatt hour is. I know what an inverter does. This isn’t scary. In fact, it’s exciting new territory to cover. But it did feel like swimming upstream some days. And I can tell from talking with friends and neighbors who are considering solar that they feel that way some days, too.

So, here’s a hypothesis to test: what if we covered this territory together? What if we learned together what it means to be a solar owner?  Would it be less daunting? Could we make solar so familiar that we all take it for granted together?  What would the world look like then?

Back to the present: A clear sunny day in October. Today, I produced 59 kWh of electricity. I’m a proud solar owner.

2 thoughts on “What it means to be a solar owner.

  1. Pingback: Solar-Wealth.com? | Solar Wealth

  2. Admiring the time and energy you put into your website and in depth information
    you provide. It’s awesome to come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t the same outdated rehashed information.
    Wonderful read! I’ve saved your site and I’m including your RSS feeds to
    my Google account.

Leave a Reply

